Holiday3

Major Jewish Holidays

ROSH HASHANA

Rosh Hashana is the start of the new Jewish year.  

Begins sunset Sunday, October 2, 2016

Ends nightfall on Tuesday, October 4, 2016

 

YOM KIPPUR                         

Yom Kippur is our Day of Atonement and the holiest day of the Jewish calendar. It is traditional to fast on this Holy Day.

Begins sunset of Tuesday, October 11 2016

Ends nightfall of Wednesday, October 12, 2016

 

SUKKOT                                 

Sukkot is a holiday to remember our forty year journey through the desert after our exodus from Egypt. It is a traditional to eat in a Sukkah (a temporary outdoor structure) for the duration of the holiday.

Begins sunset of Sunday, October 16, 2016

Ends nightfall of Sunday, October 23, 2016

 

SIMCHAT TORAH                 

Simchat Torah marks the end of the annual cycle of public Torah readings and the start of a new cycle.                                                

Begins Monday, October 24, 2016

Ends nightfall of Tuesday, October 25, 2016

 

CHANUKAH                           

Often called the Festival of Lights, Chanukah commemorates the rededication of the Temple in Jerusalem after a group of Jewish warriors (the Maccabees) defeated the occupying Greek armies.

Begins sunset of Saturday, December 24, 2016

Ends nightfall of Sunday, January 1, 2017

 

TU B’SHEVAT

Tu B’Shevat marks the Birthday of the Trees.

Begins sunset of Friday, February 10, 2017

Ends nightfall of Saturday, February 11, 2017

 

PURIM                                    

Purim celebrates the rescue of the Jewish people from the wicked Haman in the days of Queen Ester of Persia.

Begins sunset of Saturday, March 11, 2017

Ends nightfall of Sunday, March 12, 2017

 

PASSOVER

The holiday of Passover (Pesach in Hebrew) celebrates the exodus of the Jewish people from slavery in Egypt.

Begins sunset of Monday, April 10, 2017

Ends nightfall of Tuesday, April 18, 2017

 

YOM HA’SHOAH                   

Yom Ha’Shoah is Holocaust Remembrance Day.

Begins sunset Sunday, April 23, 2017

Ends nightfall of Sunday, April 24, 2017

 

YOM HA’ZIKARON                

Yom Ha’Zikaron is Israeli Memorial Day.

Begins sunset Sunday, April 30, 2017

Ends nightfall of Monday May 1, 2017

 

YOM HA’ATZMAUT

Yom Ha’Atzmaut celebrates Israeli Independence Day.

Begins sunset Monday, May 1, 2017

Ends nightfall of Tuesday, May 2, 2017

 

LAG B’OMER

Lag B’Omer is the birthday of Jewish mysticism.

Begins sunset of Saturday, May 14, 2017

Ends nightfall of Sunday, May 15, 2017

 

SHAVUOT                              

Shavuot commemorates the giving of Torah at Mount Sinai.

Begins sunset of Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Ends nightfall of Thursday, June 1, 2017

 

TISHA B’AV                           

Tisha B’Av is a fast day commemorating the destruction of the two Temples in Jerusalem.

Begins sunset of Monday, July 31, 2017

Ends nightfall of Tuesday, August 1, 2017